Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl script to invoke Cold Backups Post 302253826 by northern1969 on Sunday 2nd of November 2008 09:34:35 PM
Old 11-02-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annihilannic
Any particular reason why you want to do this in perl? If you are just calling a bunch of other scripts, it would be simpler to just invoke them from a shell script.
The script needs to be platform independent.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need a script to do daily backups

So I have a set of directories and files that I need to backup from /directory1/ to /directory2/ each night. I have some UNIX/SSH knowledge but don't assume I know a whole lot b/c I would hate to screw something up. Here's the knowledge I have: I can access my server via SSH and can navigate to... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: JPigford
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to invoke shell script

hi everybody, i learning unix now only.Can u pls guide me in invoking a shell script.Actually i need to know how to write the command for invoking the shell script.Suppose the shell file name is count , then how i will write the command. thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gopa_mani
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

invoke same script twice

hey, can I invoke the same script twice simultaneously? I want both instances to run at the same time with different parameters. Thanks! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mpang_
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Invoke perl program from Ksh

Hi all, Can I invoke a perl script from Ksh script and pass parameters to the perl script. Please do help me.. thanks Maha (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: mahalakshmi
10 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to invoke a perl script from java program

Hi: I need to invoke a perl script from a java applet program in UNIX operating system.. Can you please suggest me!!! (4 Replies)