Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting using todays date to create a report using grep Post 302253649 by muruganksk on Saturday 1st of November 2008 03:58:11 PM
Old 11-01-2008
Try this..

I am not having any problem in using this..

I created one txt file with two lines.

$ cat checking.txt
Date operation
Nov 02

Then executed the below commands

$ td=$(date '+%b %d')
$ $ grep "$td" checking.txt
Nov 02

Got the Output with two spaces in between.

So check whether the month are in caps in the files.

you know one thing, the below two commands give different results.

$ td=$(date '+%b %d')
$ echo "$td"
Nov 02

It has two spaces in-between

$ echo $td
Nov 02

It has one space in-between

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Get yesterdays date given todays date

Hi Guys. I am very new to UNIX. I need to get yesterdays and tommorows date given todays date. Which command and syntax do i use in basic UNIX shell. Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: magikminox
2 Replies

2. Linux

Comparing the file drop date with todays date

Daily one file will dropped into this directory. Directory: /opt/app/jt/drop File name: XXXX_<timestamp>.dat.gz I need to write a script which checks whether the file is dropped daily or not. Any idea in the script how can we compare timestamp of the file to today's date?? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rajneel
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to grep a string in todays file

Hello guys - I am new to Unix. I am trying to understand how to grep a perticular string in todays file? I am trying this syntax but not getting what I am looking for: % grep `date '+%d/%b/%Y'` For instance there are 2 files generated today with same data. I am trying to find them and... (21 Replies)
Discussion started by: DallasT
21 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash: create a report with grep output?