Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix Terminal question
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers Unix Terminal question Post 302251004 by Kcahintosh19 on Friday 24th of October 2008 07:03:01 PM
Old 10-24-2008
Unix Terminal question

Hi, I'm new here, but I have a quick small question. I'm sorry if it sounds stupid, but I'm new to the UNIX world after using VMS (or Windows) my entire life. I my Mac runs Leopard, and I was wondering;

My friend me through Mac's "Terminal" you can create and program your own applications by just using the UNIX codes and just in Terminal. Is this true? If it is not, what kind of program or application would I need to make any kind of application?

Thanks in advance. Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

connecting to unix through hyper terminal - as a dumb terminal

I just changed from windows NT to XP and I am no longer able to connect to my unix system. I used to use hyper terminal -- which acts as dumb terminal to my main frame unix system. I think one of the options used to be "direct to comX". This option isn't listed now. I use a serial port and the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: michelle
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Mac OS X/UNIX/Terminal Question

Hey everyone I'm new to UNIX due to the new Mac OS X operating system and would like some help. I'm trying to send an email via the UNIX-Shell-Terminal i Mac OS X, (it's called darwin) How do I do that? When I enter the Command mail I can send messages to root and with the command -forward... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: onkel
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix terminal protocol

I need to accomodate terminals running off an NCR UNIX SCO server. I need the protocol so I can get the correct S/W image for the router. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: de2934
3 Replies

4. AIX

Need a UNIX terminal to practice... please help!!!