Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix File Validation! Help
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Unix File Validation! Help Post 302250418 by joeyg on Thursday 23rd of October 2008 10:05:15 AM
Old 10-23-2008
Hammer & Screwdriver

Here is a process to think about

Code:
read thru file
  do
  read line
  tr "-" "\n" to change to rows
  then check row count
  if row count = 3
    write record to good_file
    else write record to bad file
done

See where you can go with that

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Time Validation in UNIX?

I am very new to scripting in UNIX and in need of help. I am creating a program that will check a file that has a target time in the form of HH:MM:SS before another program can begin executing. The file with the target time will only have that target time in it and nothing else. Is there any way... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mosammey
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How Can I Do Time Validation in UNIX

I am very new to scripting in UNIX and in need of help. I am creating a program that will check a file that has a target time in the form of HH:MM:SS before another program can begin executing. The file with the target time will only have that target time in it and nothing else. Is there any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mosammey
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

UNIX script Validation

Hi, I have a UNIX script which has two parts: 1. It connects to a database and refreshes a materialized view 2. It then connects to another database and inserts refresh statistics to a table The script works, but I'm not too good at UNIX validation. Currently, if the first part of the job... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: matchey
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

validation required in unix