Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris format file using shell script Post 302250326 by vimes on Thursday 23rd of October 2008 06:56:12 AM
Old 10-23-2008
Don't mean to hijack this thread, but can someone explain what those exec statements do?

Code:
exec 3<&0

etc.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

format csv file using shell script

i have a report.csv file from oracle datavase In that file data is like this with report heading and date SALES DAILY REPORT DATE: 06-26-2007 REPORT NAME: SALES DATA AA.BB.CCCC.DDDD,BBBBB,06-26-2007,0,BEGIN,END ZZ.VV.DDDD.XXXXXXX,MMMMMM,06-25-2007,18,BEGIN,END... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: raosurya
3 Replies

2. Solaris

format file using shell script

Hi All, I am new to shell scripts. I have a requirement to change the format of a file. Here is the original file: #student layout student_name student_class student_subject david 5 chemistry paul 4 physics steve 6 mathematics This is the format i need: k1,david,5,chemistry... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: balajim
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to format file based on specific patterns

Please help me out and drag me out the deadlock I am stuck into: I have a file. I want the statements under a if...then condition be listed in a separate file in the manner condition|statement.Following are the different input pattern and corresponding output parameters.any generic code to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: joyan321
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to write shell script for input file name format checking?

Hello, I had written a shell script that accepts input file as cmd line argument and process this file. if ; then if ; then . $1 LOGFILE="$LOG_FILE/MIG_BIOS.log"; get_input_file else ERROR_CODE=MSCRM0005_003 error "$ERROR_CODE : Input file $1 is not available"; exit... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Poonamol
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting