Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Swapping or switching 2 lines using sed Post 302247911 by Franklin52 on Thursday 16th of October 2008 04:30:03 PM
Old 10-16-2008
With awk:

Code:
awk 'NR==3 {
  s=$0
  getline;s=$0"\n"s
  getline;print;print s
  next
}1' file

Regards

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Swapping lines beginning with certain words using sed/awk

I have a large file which reads like this: fixed-address 192.168.6.6 { hardware ethernet 00:22:64:5b:db:b1; host X; } fixed-address 192.168.6.7 { hardware ethernet 00:22:64:5b:db:b3; host Y; } fixed-address 192.168.6.8 { hardware ethernet 00:22:64:5b:db:b4; host A; }... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ksk
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

swapping lines that match a condition using sed, perl or the like

I'm a bit new to regex and sed/perl stuff, so I would like to ask for some advice. I have tried several variations of scripts I've found on the net, but can't seem to get them to work out just right. I have a file with the following information... # Host 1 host 45583 { filename... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: TheBigAmbulance
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk: switching lines and concatenating lines?

Hello, I have only recently begun with awk and need to write this: I have an input consisting of a couple of letters, a space and a number followed by various other characters: fiRcQ 9( ) klsRo 9( ) pause fiRcQ 9( ) pause klsRo continue 1 aPLnJ 62( ) fiRcQ continue 5 ... and so on I... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Borghal
7 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions

Swapping Fields with Sed

Use and complete the template provided. The entire template must be completed. If you don't, your post may be deleted! 1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data: The assignment is to convert a text table to csv format. I've got the cleaning up done, but I need to swap two... (0 Replies)