Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to search for a pattern a string? Post 302247727 by Leo_NN on Thursday 16th of October 2008 09:27:19 AM
Old 10-16-2008
How to search for a pattern a string?

Hi all,

I'm new in UNIX , so how to check if stringA is present within stringB ?

Something similar to INSTR function in pl sql...

Thanks a lot.

Last edited by Leo_NN; 10-16-2008 at 11:11 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Advance string pattern search Please

Here is my problem.. 1. I want to search all those files with file name starting AJ128**** (in all the sub directories also) 2. I want to search for the follwoing type of string line beging with string - 'AK*any_1_char*any_2_char*510' 3. I need to display list of file names... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sainj
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search Mulitiple String pattern in a file

Hi, I need to search for a multiple string pattern(5 key words) in a file(similar to a flat file) ,and i need to store the output in a another file . In that file we may have mutiple occurrences of the key words.and i need only the unique. kindly help out. Thanks, Mohana Krishnan (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishnan_6015@y
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

search pattern in a string and rename

Hi All, I have a string assigned to a variable. the string will be a filename. Something like below: file=testfile.dat.20009080_{arc}_2004809090 I need to check if the filename has a pattern like "_{arc}_" and if so I have to rename the file like below mv... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: deepakgang
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to assign the Pattern Search string as Input Variable