Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Perl script error
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl script error Post 302247099 by KevinADC on Wednesday 15th of October 2008 02:35:08 AM
Old 10-15-2008
From what I know a segmentation fault is an error caused by the operating system or a program that tries to read/write to memory that it's not supposed to. It is possible that the perl program is using too much memory and causing the error. My guess would be that the array you are building is growing too big.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Perl Error with ftptail script

Hello everyone, I'm a starting website admin who 2 days ago decided to make the move from shared hosting to a vps on a linux (ubuntu 8.04) platform. This opened a whole new world for me, since I never worked with the console, SSH, linux,... before. I managed to get LAMP setup after a day of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cooki3s!
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

error in output of perl script

Hi, This is my piece of code. my $logFile = $ARGV; die "usage: $0 <logFile>" unless $logFile; die "Logfile $logFile doesn't exist" unless -f "$logFile"; open(my $log, "<", $logFile) or die "Can't open $logFile for reading."; print "Processing file $logFile...\n"; #my $authenticates... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: namishtiwari
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help understanding perl script error

I solicited this site earlier this week and got a good answer for a perl Script so I made this script from what understood from the answers But now I have a bug and I'm stump. It doesn't parse correctly the Output it stays on the first line My $f2 and reprints in a endless loop I'm sure there... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ex-Capsa
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script to rename file,error