Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: resolv.conf
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting resolv.conf Post 302246371 by learnbash on Monday 13th of October 2008 12:42:12 PM
Old 10-13-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by otheus
I think you are going about it the wrong way.

Code:
exec $<RESOLV >$RESOLV.new

above line should be -> exec <$RESOLV >$RESOLV.new

Thanks,
bash

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

/etc/resolv.conf

I am new to unix. I have edited the /etc/resolv.conf. It shows domain name ip address ip address These are the same ips of the dns I use for windows. Still I get no name resolution on the internet. I can ping external ip's is there anything else I need to check? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rpnhavoc
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

dns and resolv.conf

Hi ,,still struggling with unix ,,the system is running sco openserver release 5 and have dsl installed ,, the dsl modem is a bt router which in turn is connected to a vpn hardware router,, which also serves internet to the whole network ,, but i still cant connect to the internet via the unix box... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: b03der
10 Replies

3. SuSE

Suse 10 resolv.conf

I want to have 7 search domains in my resolv.conf, but it seems to like only the first six. I read somewhere that the OS will only recognize the first 6 (or the first 154 characters). Is that the case with SUSE 10? thx -Kevin (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kjbaumann
2 Replies

4. Solaris

resolv.conf & the internet

Hi I have DNS setup on Solaris 10 thought it isn't reoslveing Internet addresses properly If I traceroute The UNIX and Linux Forums - the Top UNIX & Linux Q&A on the Web, I get to a hop to my DSL router but no further hops - DNS Client & Multicast services are running - nsswitch.conf is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: stevie_velvet
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

resolv.conf