Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: date addition
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting date addition Post 302246246 by jim mcnamara on Monday 13th of October 2008 06:50:00 AM
Old 10-13-2008
stat works on files, not epoch seconds.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

addition

Hi all, I am new to perl. I need help adding bunch of numbers. I have a file look like this: 1 1 2 1 2 3 1 2 3 4 1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: email-lalit
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with addition

Hi all, I am getting following output by using commands like sort, uniq and awk to the standard output. 110 d 40 a 59 c 9 b 3 e Now at the end I would like to add all the numbers in column 1 and display the count of all numbers i.e. (110 + 40 + 59 + 9 + 3). Also the output may... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tenderfoot
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition

Hi all, I am very new to shell programming and trying to learn out the basics. I tried this: $ echo `expr 20 + 30` and it worked. But when i tried this,it does not work. $ a=20 $ b=30 $ echo `expr a + b` The error is: expr: non-numeric argument I cant understand why its... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gautamshaw
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition Of New Fields

Hi, I want to add 3 new fields in the existing file.Please find the example below. input: UID: ABCD UNAME: XYZ Desired Output Tmiestamp: 20101208 UID: ABCD UNAME: XYZ DEPTNO:40 ModifyTImestamp:20101209 If you see the above i have added the 3 columns manually in the output section... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nani7574
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Substitution/Addition