Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Converting Column to Rows in a Flat file Post 302245402 by srinikal on Friday 10th of October 2008 04:19:52 AM
Old 10-10-2008
I actually didn't mean it ...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting Single Column into Multiple rows

i have single column which is starting with same string(many number of rows) i have to convert each into a single row.how can i do that? laknar std mes 23 55 laknar isd phone no address amount 99 I have to convert above like below. laknar|std|mes|23|55 laknar|isd|phone... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: laknar
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting a flat file in XML

Hello Friends, I am new to UNIX shell scripting. Using bash....Could you please help me in converting a flat file into an XML style output file. Flat file: (Input File entries looks like this) John Miller: 617-569-7996:15 Bunting lane, staten Island, NY: 10/21/79: 60600 The... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: humkhn
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Converting the date format in a flat file

Hi All, I am new to this forum, could any one help me out in resolving the below issue. Input of the flat file contains several lines of text for example find below: 5022090,2,4,7154,88,,,,,4/1/2011 0:00,Z,L,2 5022090,3,1,6648,88,,,,,4/1/2011 0:00,Z,,1... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: av_sagar
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Audit Flat File - # of Columns / Rows

We receive a file which usually has 40 to 50 million rows. I want to set up an audit process by which everytime we receive a file we audit it for # of rows and total number of columns. So if the # of rows is around 1 million on a particular day, I want to raise a flag or send an email....and if... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: priya33184
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting entries from rows to column