Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: subtracting variables in ksh
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting subtracting variables in ksh Post 302245310 by a2156z on Thursday 9th of October 2008 09:23:08 PM
Old 10-09-2008
((spaces=40-count))
a2156z

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Subtracting Variables which are commands

I have this idea. I have a variable for the start of someones log in time, (start=`who am i | cut -c30-34`) and a variable for the log out time or present time, (end=`date | cut -c12-16`) but how do I go about subtracting them to get the total log in time. I've tried adding a another variable... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Astudent
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

variables in ksh

I'm new to unix scripting. How would I go about pulling the first 3 characters from a variable in ksh and storing in another variable? Thanks. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: steve6368
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting pathname variables with ksh

With C Shell you can get the root, head, tail and extension of a pathname by using pathname variable modifiers. Example Script: #! /bin/csh set pathvar=/home/WSJ091305.txt echo $pathvar:r echo $pathvar:h echo $pathvar:t echo $pathvar:e The result of executing this script is: ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: BCarlson
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Ksh - Env. Variables ??

Hey all, I have been using Ksh and in that I am setting Environment variables. To set Env. Variables I have created my own file "BuildScript.sh" in which i have written : export CLASSPATH=/somedir/some other dir/file:. export PATH=/some dir/file:. But when i am calling this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: varungupta
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing variables to sed in ksh