Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting To copy everything except 2 files Post 302244874 by *Jess* on Wednesday 8th of October 2008 11:15:47 PM
Old 10-09-2008
Thanks for the reply.

There's an error when:
cp !(foo|bar) /my/destination/dir
root@rskcs3 # cp !(abc.txt|bcd.txt) /tmp/test1
syntax error: `(' unexpected

I'm using ksh, seems like not working.Smilie

Shall try out the next following codes.

What is the ^bar$ --^ & $ for? I'm still quite new in scripting

Last edited by *Jess*; 10-09-2008 at 12:21 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

copy files

Hi, Under the home directory, I want to search for all the *.xml files and move them all into another folder under home. Is it possbile using a single find command . Regards, Chirayu Sutaria (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: chirayus
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

copy of files

hi all i have a script,which when executed must copy 3 files from a directory on boxA to the same directory on boxB.I'm using scp to copy these files,the problem is out ofthe 3 files only1 is been copied and not the other 2, i have permissons for the files,any ideas are appreciated thnks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bkan77
2 Replies

3. SCO

How do you copy files from CD

How do you copy files fra a cd-rom to a directory on the computer? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Schnell
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

copy only new files or files of a different size

hello i would like to copy files from 1 location to a nother, but it has only to copy files which are newer or have a different filesize. all has to be logged to a copy.log file (als skipped files should be in the log) is this possible with the cp command (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: arnoldg
1 Replies

5. UNIX and Linux Applications

Copy all files

how i can copy all files " select all " in one step t try command cp -t (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: walidfinder