Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting store timestamp in a variable Post 302243216 by regnumber on Saturday 4th of October 2008 06:22:21 AM
Old 10-04-2008
Question store timestamp in a variable

I am new to Unix shell Script
echo "Run SQL select current timestamp from SYSIBM.SYSDUMMY1 with ur" >>$monlog
db2 "select current timestamp from SYSIBM.SYSDUMMY1 with ur" >> currenttimestamp
cat currenttimestamp

-----------------------------
2008-10-04-07.49.11.214113
1 record(s) selected

can any one help us to fix this problem.

thanks in advance.

Krishnakanth

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

To store the output in a variable

Hi, I am getting the following error while executing the script. Please can someone throw some light where is the problem. Many thanks. ./check: temp: not found The directory related to SEP instance 4 does not exist. The script is as follows. SEP_APP="/scp/sepx/app... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sudhakar333
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help in scripting, store value in variable

Hi all, I have a script in which i need to run a command like "/opt/dell/srvadmin/sbin/omreport about" and output will be something like Version : 6.3.0 Copyright : Copyright (C) xxx Inc. 1995-2010 All rights reserved. Company : xxx Inc. In this i need to save the version... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: Renjesh
13 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Not able to store command inside a shell variable, and run the variable

Hi, I am trying to do the following thing var='date' $var Above command substitutes date for and in turn runs the date command and i am getting the todays date value. I am trying to do the same thing as following, but facing some problems, unique_host_pro="sed -e ' /#/d'... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gvinayagam
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers