Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk is changing my FS !!
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk is changing my FS !! Post 302243192 by jolecanard on Saturday 4th of October 2008 03:39:54 AM
Old 10-04-2008
I already tried that...
The problem then is that all my columns are spaced with only one space!

I want to keep the structure:
Code:

"   "3" "xxxxxx"  "x.xxxxExx" "xxxxxx"  "x.xxxxExx"...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with awk script, changing the FS for a single variable

Hi all, im new to awk and would apreciate if you could tell me how to do this, i have a file with several entries like this: 2008-09-09 21:57:45 44 403 CUSTOM_EVENT Upgrade - end1 2008-09-09 21:57:46 45 403 CUSTOM_EVENT Component Check - start... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sx3v1l_1n51de
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing file names with AWK

Dear All, I have some thousands of files in a folder and i need to change those file names without opening the file (no need to change anything in the file content, need to change the file name only). The filenames are as follows: Myfile_name.1_parameter Myfile_name.2_parameter... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Fredrick
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help changing date output with AWK

Hello all, I have an issue where I'm trying to change a date in a csv text file. The file contains lines that have several fields. For example "John", "Smith","some_address","some_city","555-555-5555","11/11/1972" "Joan","User","some_address","some_city","444-444-4444","12/02/1963" The date... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: commobox
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing one number in all files using awk