Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Trim String in 3rd Column in Tab Delimited File...SED/PERL/AWK? Post 302241168 by rickdini on Sunday 28th of September 2008 03:31:33 PM
Old 09-28-2008
Trim String in 3rd Column in Tab Delimited File...SED/PERL/AWK?

Hey Everybody,

I am having much trouble figuring this out, as I am not really a programmer..Smilie

Datafile.txt
Column0 Column1 Column2
ABC DEF xxxGHI

I am running using WGET on a cronjob to grab a datafile, but I need to cut the first three characters from column2 of the file, and save the file. It is Tab-delimited...

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!!! I have been reading tutorials for hours and I just can't get it!

Thanks in advance,
Rick

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete parts of a string of character in one given column of a tab delimited file

I would like to remove characters from column 7 so that from an input file looking like this: >HWI-EAS422_12:4:1:69:89 GGTTTAAATATTGCACAAAAGGTATAGAGCGT U0 1 0 0 ref_chr8.fa 6527777 F DD I get something like that in an output file: ... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: matlavmac
13 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using sed on 1st column of tab delimited file

Hi all, I'm new to Unix and work primarily in bioinformatics. I am in need of a script which will allow me to replace "1" with "chr1" in only the first column of a file which looks like such: 1 10327 rs112750067 T C . PASS ASP;RSPOS=10327;... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hkins552
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using awk to log transform a column in a tab-delimited text file?

How do I use awk to log transform the fifth column of a tab-delimited text file? Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: evelibertine
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract second column tab delimited file