Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: addition in sh shell
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers addition in sh shell Post 302241120 by cfg on Sunday 28th of September 2008 01:34:58 PM
Old 09-28-2008
addition in sh shell

I have to create un counter and I am unable to do an additition:

#!/bin/sh
count=$1
while [[ $count -le 10]]
do
echo $count
$count=$count+$1
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

How to perform addition of two numbers in shell scripting in Solaris-10

Hi, I have a sh script which contains the following line TOTAL=$((e4-s4)) -> Where e4 and s4 are input got from the user. At the time of execution of this line the following error occurs test.sh: syntax error at line 8: `TOTAL=$' unexpected How to solve this issue?. Can any... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: krevathi1912
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

addition

Hi all, I am new to perl. I need help adding bunch of numbers. I have a file look like this: 1 1 2 1 2 3 1 2 3 4 1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: email-lalit
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple addition, help.

I add up the number of args that are not blank. It works, but the printout is a string that just keep concatenating on +1. So Ex. it goes through input of: bob toto " " tom ...I get 0+1+1+1, when all I want is 3. Any help is appreciated. count=0 for name in $* do if ; then ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bandit390
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with addition

Hi all, I am getting following output by using commands like sort, uniq and awk to the standard output. 110 d 40 a 59 c 9 b 3 e Now at the end I would like to add all the numbers in column 1 and display the count of all numbers i.e. (110 + 40 + 59 + 9 + 3). Also the output may... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tenderfoot
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition