Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers comparing timestamp of a file with its touched version Post 302241094 by prince258 on Sunday 28th of September 2008 10:33:27 AM
Old 09-28-2008
Bug comparing timestamp of a file with its touched version

Hi,
I'm new to unix,I wanna know how can I compare timestamp of a file with its touched version.i.e I want to be sure if the touch command has worked properly i.e if the file has been touched then a msg should be printed saying success else failure.All this to be incurred in a script.
Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparing timestamp of two files

Hi! I need to copy a whole bunch of file from a build directory to my working directory. Many of these files already exist in my working directory. I need to copy only those files that have been modified since I last copied.. How do I compare the timestamp of two files, so that I would copy... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jyotipg
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Comparing Version Numbers

Hi There! Apologies if this has been asked previously but I couldn't find the answer I was hoping for. Basically, all I want to do is compare the OS X version against the version that I require in my script. So I'm retrieving the OS version using defaults read, but how can I compare this... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: davewg
10 Replies

3. What is on Your Mind?

Finally I touched 1000.Yahooooo!!!

This, my venerable audience, is my 1000th post here. Thanks for your support and help..:b: ---Vidyadhar:) (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vidyadhar85
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Never touched UNIX before.. Where do I start?