Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Perl error checking question
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl error checking question Post 302234841 by i9300 on Wednesday 10th of September 2008 01:39:16 PM
Old 09-10-2008
Perl error checking question

I am not very good with perl but trying to force myself to start learning...
I have a script that calls three other scripts in variables. I want to use a if statement to check the exit status and not sure how to do it..

This is basically what I have, the individual scripts print either a Y or N.
Code:
        $COMMAND1=`command1`;
        $COMMAND2=`command2`;
        $COMMAND3=`command3`;
        if ($COMMAND1 eq "N" || ($COMMAND2 eq "N" || ($COMMAND3 eq "N" ) {
                print "something here";
        } else {
                print "something else";
        }

This works, but I don't like it and it should be done with the exit status. I was reading up on this site....
Perl Special Variables

"$! When used in a numeric context, holds the current value of errno. If used in a string context, will hold the error string associated with errno.
$@ Holds the syntax error message, if any, from the last eval() function call."

I am just not sure how to implement it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl data type checking

I am using perl 5.8.0. I need to check some values to see it they are floats. Our system does not have Data::Types so I can't use is_float. Is there something else that I can use? The only thing in Data is Dump.pm. I am not allowed to download anything to our system so I have to use what I have.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajgwin
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Opening Files and checking contents in Perl