Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Get IP of FTP Host
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Get IP of FTP Host Post 302229093 by rahulrathod on Tuesday 26th of August 2008 07:28:45 AM
Old 08-26-2008
Get IP of FTP Host

All,

This may be very trivial, but I am unaware.

We normally do FTP to hosts with their hostname as follows.

$ ftp c.b.a.com

Now, How do I know the IP address of c.b.a.com?

Thanks,
Rahul.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

QNX host cannot ping SCO host, vice versa

The problem I am facing now is that the QNX host could not ping the SCO host and vice versa. They are in the same domain, ie, 172.20.3.xx. As I am very new to Unix, I guess I must have missed out some important steps. Pls help... Thanx alot (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gavon
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How do I ftp to an unknown host?

after ftp. ftp.umass.edu, I get "UNKNOWN HOST" There is no prompt for username. What do I do so that I can ftp files out? Or even email, to an unknown host. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: AllyJones
3 Replies

3. IP Networking

FTP - Connection Closed By Remote Host

Hi, I am having a problem with our AIX 4.3.3 Server accessing FTP. The error is " Connection Closed By Remote Host". Scenario: Since i put a default gateway on the server FTP connection is having a problem but when i remove the default gateway it will works fine.. Is there any way not... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mouglybean
1 Replies

4. Solaris

How to delete the files from local host to remote host

Hi all, i am copying .gz files from production server to development server using "scp" command.my requirement is after copying .gz files i want to delete old .gz files(two days back) in development server from production server. like this way i need to delelte .log ,.z and .dmp files... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishna176
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting