Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Passing a variable to awk while in a shell for loop Post 302227594 by synergy_texas on Thursday 21st of August 2008 02:42:00 PM
Old 08-21-2008
Passing a variable to awk while in a shell for loop

I am a newbie to awk and c programming, however am not a unix newbie. However, I do need help with a kshell script I am writing. It is almost complete, the last step is killing me. Any help would be greatly appreciated. What I am trying to do is cat a text file that has usernames. Then, using the for loop I want to extract out lines from a second file where the name exist in a record using awk. There could be multiple records with the username. The second file has variable length records. I only need the last field from the second file and the username.
Here are examples of the two files.

users.txt ------- secondfile.txt
user1 -------- user3 user1 user2 /mydir/next/firstdir
user2 -------- user1 /mydir/next/seconddir
user3 -------- user2 user3 /mydir/next/thirdir

Here is my script:
for i in cat `users.txt`
do
awk -v t01=$i 't01 { print t01 " " $NF }' secondfile.txt >> thirdfile.txt
done

Initially I tried '/t01/ { print t01 " " $NF }' but found that awk does not like variables within the / /. The problem with the above syntax is that for every record in users.txt, I get a print of the last field for every record in secondfile.txt. Yet, when I use awk at the command line and use /user1/ I get only the records from secondfile.txt that I would expect.

Hope this explanation is clear. Your help is greatly appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing awk variable to the shell script

hi; i have a file containing lines like: 1|1069108123|96393669788|00963215755711|2|0|941||;serv:Pps6aSyria;first:0;bear i want to extract the second, third and fourth record of each line and store it in a file ";" seperated this is what i wrote while read line do ... (3 Replies)