Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: script to monitor directory
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting script to monitor directory Post 302227183 by ddreggors on Wednesday 20th of August 2008 06:53:24 PM
Old 08-20-2008
better yet create a script that runs "one" time to look for (ls) files and use lsof to add logic for files currently being written to, next add a function for what you want to do with files NOT being written to.

Place that script in a users (root?) cron that runs every minute.

example of logic using lsof:

for F in `ls`
do
VAL=`lsof /full/path/to/$F`
if [ -z $VAL ]
then
your_function_here $F
fi
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Hep with script to monitor directory

Hello, I am a newbie who is attempting to write a script to monitor a directory for a set of 3 files that I am expecting to get ftp'd. Occasionally, we suspend operations for maintenance etc. but we still get the files so there can be more than 1 set. If there is more than 1 set, I would like... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cmf00186
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to monitor files in a directory and sending the alert

Hi All, We are having important config files in an directory which was accessable by all /auto/config/Testbed/>ls config1.intial config2.intial config3.inital often we find that some of the lines are missing in config files, we doubt if some one is removing. I would like to write... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: shellscripter
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Monitor capacity of directory

Good morning. I have been attempting to find a way to monitor the capacity of a directory so that when it reaches 80% or higher I can send an event. I was able to find a script that does this for the whole drive by I can not seem to figure out how to do this for just a single directory. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: LRoberts
1 Replies

4. AIX

monitor directory events