Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: How to compare two strings
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to compare two strings Post 302227001 by otheus on Wednesday 20th of August 2008 11:13:16 AM
Old 08-20-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niroj
SmilieThat is good but I used the way how Prashant tried.. so tht he can find wht is the prob in his string comp approach..
The problem is that he's comparing a string using the shell's NUMERICAL comparators (lt, ge, etc). He could use bash's STRING comparators. The weird thing is that they have to be escaped, so I avoid them.

Code:
$ test "0.1.2" \< "0.1.3" && echo smaller
smaller

Again, that only works in BASH (at least since version 2.05 // 2005).

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

to compare two strings

hi all, i am new to unix. Actually i need to compare two string and print the result... suppose type='sun' if; then echo good morning else echo good night fi whether the comparison is right r we need to use eq???? help me please.... :confused: thanks in advance.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ithirak17
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to compare two strings using if

Hi, Here is my script #!/bin/ksh echo $pick_typ if ];then echo "inside if" else echo "outside if" fi when ever i pass CUS as parameter to this script am getting the correct value CUS, however if i pass ORD as parameter it is not coming inside if it is echoing else "Outside... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: bhargav20
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare text strings.

Hi Im trying to write a script that compare a text string. But it fails, I think it adds a extra line feed to the result and fails beacuse of that. The script. DT=`date +'%Y%m%d%H%M%S'` #ALARM_BIN=/users/alarms/ssa/alarms/bin QUEUE_THR=10 #unset offset #offset="***Server reports data... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vettec3
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting