Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: TCP status question
Top Forums Programming TCP status question Post 302226765 by chihung on Tuesday 19th of August 2008 08:45:15 PM
Old 08-19-2008
I am no expert in TCP, but I know that if you 'abort' your client, the server is doing a 'passive close' and the server will go into 'CLOSE_WAIT' state. The time interval for close_wait will depend on the system.

In Solaris, you can find out all these time interval settings
Code:
$ for i in `ndd /dev/tcp \? | awk '/interval/{print $1}'`
  do
  echo "$i=`ndd /dev/tcp $i`"
  done
tcp_time_wait_interval=60000
tcp_ip_abort_cinterval=180000
tcp_ip_abort_linterval=180000
tcp_ip_abort_interval=480000
tcp_ip_notify_cinterval=10000
tcp_ip_notify_interval=10000
tcp_keepalive_interval=7200000
tcp_rexmit_interval_initial=3000
tcp_rexmit_interval_max=60000
tcp_rexmit_interval_min=400
tcp_deferred_ack_interval=100
tcp_fin_wait_2_flush_interval=675000
tcp_rexmit_interval_extra=0
tcp_co_timer_interval=20
tcp_local_dack_interval=50
tcp_ndd_get_info_interval=1000
tcp_push_timer_interval=50
tcp_close_wait_interval(obsoleted-=name is non-existent for this module
for a list of valid names, use name '?'

Recently I talked about the TIME_WAIT in my blog.
Chi Hung Chan: Lots of TIME_WAIT in Your Netstat
See the attached TCP state diagram to understand the relationship of various states.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Couldn't open status file /var/samba/STATUS.LCK

I believe i have most of samba configured right but i get this error each time time try to run it. I was given suggestion that i touch the file, i did, but i still cannot rid myself of this error. Any suggestions (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: macdonto
2 Replies

2. Programming

How to check TCP server status

Please tell me according to C/C++ socket programming; how client can check whether server is running or not during TCP communication. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mansoorulhaq