Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to test for scripts running Post 302225013 by runnerpaul on Thursday 14th of August 2008 10:26:48 AM
Old 08-14-2008
Cheers. Im looking into that.
At the min im writing my grep to output to a tmp file. I can get this working but includes my actual grep in the output too. I know -v is used to hide the grep but not sure how it should look in a script. Heres what I got:

Code:
ps -efa | grep chk > /var/tmp/Paul/scripts/tmp

I have tried:

Code:
`ps -efa | grep chk -v > /var/tmp/Paul/scripts/tmp`

and:

Code:
`ps -efa | grep chk | grep -v 'grep '` > /var/tmp/Paul/scripts/tmp

Both created an empty tmp file.

Got any suggestions?

By the way, thanks for all the help so far.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script to Test Application Server is running

Hi, I'm a complete novice at Unix and need to create a script that does the following... checks to see if an application server is running. If the app is running then print 'Available' Else print 'Unavaliable' exit from scriopt I have no idea where to start. I'd be very grateful... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: duglover
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running SQL Scripts from Shell script - Need insight!

I've a script that fetches various values from the database as below: #! /bin/ksh $conn="user/pwd@service_name" `sqlplus -s << $conn EOF1 @xyz.sql @pqr.sql @abc.sql EOF1` The output of the script should generate txt files containing the results from queries which are further... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: manthasirisha
6 Replies

3. Linux

running test

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I am running a test command and if the user is not found you have to type exit and it wiil exit. Ok I did that. But if the user is found it is supposed to finger them. But my problem is it makes you type exit first... (2 Replies)