Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Is my terminal input secure?
Special Forums Cybersecurity Is my terminal input secure? Post 302224889 by era on Thursday 14th of August 2008 06:36:22 AM
Old 08-14-2008
Root can do anything. Don't run it on a box where you do not trust root.

(The question is not well stated, though. The problem is not in the security of your terminal input, it's in the security of where that input ends up in the memory of a remote computer whose administrator you do not trust.)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to suppress input keying from displaying on terminal.

I'm a Unix newbie. In a shell-script, is there any way to accept keyboard input (via STDIN) without having it display on the screen? I know keying in a login password sort of does this by replacing what you key with astericks (*) but I believe that's a "C" routine. I'd like to be able to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: liteyear18
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

connecting to unix through hyper terminal - as a dumb terminal

I just changed from windows NT to XP and I am no longer able to connect to my unix system. I used to use hyper terminal -- which acts as dumb terminal to my main frame unix system. I think one of the options used to be "direct to comX". This option isn't listed now. I use a serial port and the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: michelle
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Secure FTP Problem using Sun SSH on Client system F-Secure on Server system

I am using shell script to do secure ftp. I have done key file setup to do password less authentication. Following are the FTP Details: FTP Client has Sun SSH. FTP Server has F-Secure. I am using SCP Command to do secure copy files. When I am doing this, I am getting the foll error scp:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ftpguy
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Don't show keyboard input on terminal