Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting delete files recursively in the specified directory Post 302224728 by tagro82 on Wednesday 13th of August 2008 10:03:10 PM
Old 08-13-2008
Java Use ls -R and then test whether it is a file

Algo
1) ls -r >> data file
2) counter =1
3) Now read line by line in while loop-- while ($ counter < no of lines in file)
if (test -f sed -n ${counter}p)
{ remove the file rm -f sed -n ${counter}p}

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively copy only specific files from a directory tree

Hi I am a shell-script newbie and am looking to synchronize certain files in two directory structures. Both these directory-trees are in CVS and so I dont want the CVS directory to be copied over. I want only .sh and .pl files in each subdirectory under these directory trees to be... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sharpsharkrocks
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete files older than 5 minutes in directory (recursively)

sorry guys can some please give me a hint how to achieve this in a slick oneliner? delete files older than 5 minutes in specified directory (recursively) peace (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: scarfake
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Delete files Recursively *thumbs*.jpg

Greetings, I need to delete all files that contain the word thumbs. Those files are spread all throughout sub-directories in a file directory tree. Is there a script or single line command that will find all files with the word thumbs, and simply delete the file? For example: Delete... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ..Chris..
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with script generating files in directory recursively