Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Installing a driver
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Installing a driver Post 302223108 by Brian-UOIT on Friday 8th of August 2008 11:07:02 AM
Old 08-08-2008
Installing a driver

Hi All,

I am trying to install a driver for a CAN card of a machine running Ubuntu 8.04. It cames with three .tgz files for gcc2, gcc3, and k26. The current version of gcc is 4.2.1, which is causing me problems. I installed gcc-3.3 using

sudo apt-get install gcc-3.3

But when I run the make command for the driver, it still is using gcc 4.2.1, and as a result is not compiling.

How do I switch the PATH so that I am using gcc-3.3 to install the driver. I am very new to Linux, please help.

Thanks,
Brian

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Installing driver in linux redhat... what am I doing wrong?

I am trying to install this driver: http://www.asus.com/support/download/selectftp.aspx?l1_id=1&l2_id=15&l3_id=15&m_id=1&f_name=5702_558.zip~zaqwedc hoping it will correct my problem with my ethernet card. I am following the instructions in the text file that came with download... it says to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Minnesota Red
7 Replies

2. Solaris

SUNWglmr -- rasctrl environment monitoring driver for i2c or SCSI device driver ?

I've been researching minimizeing Solaris 8 and found that on the web page http://www.sun.com/bigadmin/content/packagelist/s8u7PkgList/p2.html the package SUNWglmr is listed as "rasctrl environment monitoring driver for i2c, (Root) (32-bit)" while in the document "Solaris 8 minimize-updt1.pdf"... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: roygoodwin
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Installing Network on Computer, might be driver