Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: read input file
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers read input file Post 302221855 by tjmannonline on Tuesday 5th of August 2008 11:24:08 AM
Old 08-05-2008
that works too.

if [ -z "$employee" ] - works also.

once again, thank you much.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

read input file for batch job

hi all, I am a newbie in unix shell script. May I know how to write a bacth job to read a list of files afrom the inout file and do the chmod ? Thanks. i.e. inside input.txt ==== a.txt b.txt c.txt and I want to write a batch job to read the input .txt and do the chmod 755 for all 3... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: kinmak
14 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to read the input from a file in background process?

Hi I have a script to run some other scripts automatically. But while running the script it should take the input value from a text file instead of taking from the keyboard. Please find last two lines of the script below. Here ans should be taken from a text file ineerly without displaying this... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shirdi
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need a script that will read from 2 input file

Hi Everyone. I am new in this scripting world. I need to know about script that I can use on linux/sun operating systems. I have 2 input file. File 1: Its has an header information and then data in 2 different columns. File 2 : It has data in 9 different columns/ I need an script that... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: syahmed
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read text file and use it as input

I need to take a text file that holds a bunch of data and run each the stuff in it as an input for the program. the file would hold stuff like this: thing1.awesomesite.com 80 123.456 thing2.awesomesite.com 80 789.098 thing3.awesomesite.com 80 765.432 ... Now I already know the... (1 Reply)