Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Issue while storing grep result Post 302220141 by era on Thursday 31st of July 2008 02:20:17 AM
Old 07-31-2008
Add double quotes around the variable name to avoid wildcard expansion.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

To have a numeric result from grep

I am new to unix. i need to know how to use grep to grep and expression from a file. and pass the result as a 0 for found and 1 for not found. I can only go up to grep 'Checking Subscription Status' ranos.log. Please help. Thank you. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hak Dee
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem storing SSH result in a variable

i have this SSH command which runs perfectly on command prompt in sunOS ssh -o Port=${portno} ${uname}@${server} find ${dir_path} -name '***' output : /usr/local/home/*** My problem is when i run same command in my script #!/usr/bin/ksh res=`ssh -o Port=${portno} ${uname}@${server}... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: prash184u
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

storing result of a command in variable

For whatever reason I cant seem to fix my syntax to do the following. I want to run a grep and count how many instances come up and store that number in a variable but I keep erroring out. Here's my code in bash: number=grep blah file.txt | wc -l (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: eltinator
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

pipe result from grep

Trying to create a command line script to look for all files matching a pattern, grep for a specific value in each file, and write out the filename long list. It's possible the filename won't containe the value. { echo “Running....” for fname in 811_Intermediate_File_* do grep -l... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gavineq
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pattern matching & storing result in variable