Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: $random
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting $random Post 302213824 by fpmurphy on Friday 11th of July 2008 05:59:35 AM
Old 07-11-2008
In ksh93 the range for the RANDOM variable is 0 - 2**15 and is generated by means of the rand(3) pseudo-random number generator. As an extra precaution, ksh93 checks to see that it never picks the same number twice in a row.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting a random file

Hello, I am very new to shell scripting. This problem seems quite easy so it should be quite easy (I hope ^^) I want to get a random file from a directory. this file will be in one subdirectory, and it will contain spaces. code I have got so far: N=find ./*/*.jpg | wc -l ((N=RANDOM%N)) ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: davidY
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Random

My problem is as follow and i hope you can help: I currently have this function: stored_word() { number=$RANDOM let "number %= 21" case $number in 0 ) echo "energy" ;; 1 ) echo "touch" ;; 2 ) echo "climbing" ;; 3 ) echo "declare" ;; 4 ) echo "marry" ;; 5 ) echo "relax" ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: keyvan
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

random words

Hi there folks, for an exercise for my pupils (you know i am always thinking of them!) i need to randomly re-arrange the words (blank space separated) in a sentence (a line in a textfile). Any inspiration?? Txk so much. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: eldeingles
9 Replies

4. Ubuntu

expect script for random password and random commands

Hi I am new to expect. Please if any one can help on my issue its really appreciable. here is my issue: I want expect script for random passwords and random commands generation. please can anyone help me? Many Thanks in advance (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanid
0 Replies

5. Programming

random number