Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Noob on Unix.
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Noob on Unix. Post 302213318 by pupp on Wednesday 9th of July 2008 07:19:55 PM
Old 07-09-2008
so like a case?

Code:
read choice
case "$choice" in
  "1")
    do something
  ;;
  "2")
    do something
  ;;

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Noob learning Unix: backup commands

I am trying to learn some unix here and i have some question that i would like to ask: What's the most basic backup command? What is the command to pause a backup? What is the command to resume backup? Can we backup a job that is running ? How can we pause the backup of the job and than... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: lotusx
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I am a unix noob

Hello i am new to this forum. I signed up here really to ask one question. I recentaly got a old unix server from my work and i never really understood what unix is or what is does. Dont get me wrong i and very smart with computers as long as its windows, mac, or linux i can use them all but i... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alt+f4
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

complete noob

Hi all, This is my first post. I am a complete noobie to the UNIX OS, I have an iMac G5 with the unix shell built in and am interested in learning how to use it to do things useful with it, but have no idea where to start. I have read over the basic commands but they haven't helped me much yet.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: avdrummerboy
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Noob

Hi all, I am trying to write a shell script that will move files from one directory to another, the only thing is I want to to check loads of different source directory and move the files to loads of different directories. I am totally new to shell scripts but not to UNIX (although I would... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sax
16 Replies