Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Generating line number
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Generating line number Post 302213010 by Amey Joshi on Wednesday 9th of July 2008 03:13:52 AM
Old 07-09-2008
Hi,
My file is
DSLink43
DSLink46
DSLink48
DSLink46
DSLink46
DSLink44

My desired ouput is:
1.DSLink43
2.DSLink46
3.DSLink48
4.DSLink46
5.DSLink46
6.DSLink44

Thanks In Advance!Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Generating random number within a specific range (0.5-1.5)

Hello, need a way to generate numbers within 0.5-1.5 range Has to be totally random: 0.6 1.1 0.8 1.5 0.6 and so on.... How to? (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: TehOne
10 Replies

2. Programming

generating 16 digit random number in C

Hi, How can we generate 16 digit random nos in C. (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajaysahoo
10 Replies

3. Programming

C Help; generating a random number.

Im new to C, and Im having a hard time getting a random number. In bash, I would do something similar to the following to get a random number; #!/bin/bash seed1=$RANDOM seed2=$RANDOM seed3=$RANDOM SEED=`expr $seed1 * $seed2 / $seed3` echo ${SEED%.*} Now, in online examples... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: trey85stang
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to read contents of a file from a given line number upto line number again specified by user

Hello Everyone. I am trying to display contains of a file from a specific line to a specific line(let say, from line number 3 to line number 5). For this I got the shell script as shown below: if ; then if ; then tail +$1 $3 | head -n $2 else ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: grc
5 Replies

5. Programming

Generating Random Number in Child Process using Fork