Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to assign the first day of the next month Post 302211955 by rosalinda on Saturday 5th of July 2008 11:30:18 AM
Old 07-05-2008
Java How can i assign date to next month

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosalinda
Hi everybody,
I am very new in shell and this is my first post Smilie.
i am trying to write a script in which i want to decide some begin dates. this dates will be used by another shell scripts.
i would like to assign:
1- a variable which is a = sysdate
2- another variable b = the first day of the next month from sysdate

i don't want the time to be exactly the same as sysdate, i would like to have time at midnight. is it possible to assign the time as i want also?

i want to have time in both, like sysdate is: 20080705 05:02:04,
and the first day of next month to be: 20080801 00:00:05

I appreciate a lot your kind help.
Regards.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Write a shell script to find whether the first day of the month is a working day

Hi , I am relatively new to unix... Can u pls help me out to find out if the first day of the month is a working day ie from (Monday to Friday)...using Date and If clause in Korn shell.. This is very urgent. Thanks for ur help... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: phani
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

last day of the month

can any one please tell me how can I get the last day of the month Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: aya_r
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

The last day of the last month

I am a beginner in unix. Can anyone tell me how to get the last day of the last month in 'yyyymmdd' format? eg. today is 20050909, I want to get 20050831. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: emily79
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

determine last day of the month

In a ksh script how do I determine if I am on the last day fo the month ? thanks (4 Replies)