Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Find and replace in a file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find and replace in a file Post 302208458 by vinay123 on Tuesday 24th of June 2008 02:28:32 AM
Old 06-24-2008
Find and replace in a file

Hi everyone,
I am new to the world of shell script programming.

I have a file named Fnd1.txt which has the contents as below.
I need to replace the \t with the tab space. Can any one help me
to write a perl scipt for this.

USA45V1\tG\t341029
USAV1T1\tG\t450545
USAREJ1\tG\t572645
USAIX11\tG\t705650

The file sholud like this.
USA45V1 G 341029
USAV1T1 G 450545
USAREJ1 G 572645
USAIX11 G 705650

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find replace within a file?

I build several files by using the cut command to grab select fields(columns) from a really bid csv file. Each file is one column of data. I then put them together using paste command. Here is the code built in tcsh: cut -d , -f 1 some.csv > 1.csv cut -d , -f 10 some.csv > 10.csv paste 1.csv... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: yankee428
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find and replace in a gz file

Is there a way to do a find and replace in a .gz file in a single script ? I can always unzip, find and replace and then zip it again but would hate to do this everytime. Thanks ! Vivek (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vashah
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Selectively Find/Replace in a file?

I have a file that is HTML encoded. Each line has something like this on each line.. <href=http://link.com/username.aspx>username </a> more info.. <a href=http://link.com/info1.aspx>info1</a> more code... <a href=http://link.com/info2.aspx>info2</a> I have one goal really.. to clean up the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dragin33
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to find a certain string in a file and replace it with a value from another file using sed/awk?