Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting find filenames like unix commands Post 302208454 by s123.radha on Tuesday 24th of June 2008 02:06:41 AM
Old 06-24-2008
u can have a shell script like "search.sh" which accepts a directory name as an argument..

search.sh may look like

#! /bin/sh
DIR_NAME =$1
# u have to search for all the unix files one by one like and write to serach.log file. Below command will do the same for you
#find DIR_NAME name nameoffile > search.log
find DIR_NAME name cat > search.log
find DIR_NAME name grep > search.log

I am also new to linux.. this solution will work but only thing is the script will be as long as set of unix commands u want to find out.

Cheers!!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

find lowercase filenames

How do I write the command to find all files with any lower case letters in the filename? I have tried find . -name *\(a-z\) and a lot of combinations like that, without success. thanks JP:confused: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jpprial
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix History Question: Why are filenames/dirnames case sentsitive in Unix?

I tried looking for the answer online and came up with only a few semi-answers as to why file and directory names are case sensitive in Unix. Right off the bat, I'll say this doesn't bother me. But I run into tons of Windows and OpenVMS admins in my day job who go batty when they have to deal... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deckard
3 Replies

3. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

where i can find list of UNIX commands for daily operations ?

Hi There, Can anyone help, where i can find list of UNIX commands just for regulat day ro day operations Thanx MGR (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mgoutham
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Omitting some filenames for commands to process