Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting check for the value of one particular field and give output in a different file Post 302208445 by deepakgang on Tuesday 24th of June 2008 01:12:02 AM
Old 06-24-2008
use a case statement

severity=`awk '/\[Alarm Severity\]:/ {print $3}' file`

case $severity in
MINOR) <statements> ;;

MAJOR) <statements> ;;

esac

not sure if this is the best way...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Output Multiple Field from dataBase file

I am fairly new in unix I was wondering if anybody can help me out with this: I am trying to output to a file the following fields; Field1 Field2 Field4 From a database file dataBase1. this is how the file looks: dataBase1 TABLE DATA Example ================== Table ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dennz
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

avoid open file to check field.

Hi Everyone, # cat a.txt 94,aqqc,62345907, 5,aeec,77, # cat 1.pl #!/usr/bin/perl use strict; use warnings; use Date::Manip; open(my $FA, "/root/a.txt") or die "$!"; while(<$FA>) { chomp; my @tmp=split(/\,/, $_); if (index($tmp, "qq") ne -1) { ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy_y
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

simplify the script, check field match to value in a file

Hi Everyone, Below is the script, i feel there should be more simple way to do the same output, my one works, but feel not nice. like using index i feel it is slow (image my file is very large), maybe awk can do one line code? Please advice. # cat 1.txt 1 a 2 b 3 cc 4 d # cat 1.pl... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy_y
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check field formatting of input file?