Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting extraction of perfect text from file. Post 302207528 by Franklin52 on Friday 20th of June 2008 07:19:31 AM
Old 06-20-2008
Code:
awk -F"\"" '$3 ~ "password="{print $4}' file

Regards

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script for text extraction from a file

Hi All, I am new to Shell Scripting. I have a file consisting of XML messages.Each message is associated with a timestamp value(it is not a xml field).I need to extract\copy all messages in a particular time interval and put in another new file using Shell Scripting. My XML looks like... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vignesh53
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

extraction of data from a text file which follows certain pattern

hi everybody, i have a file, in it I need to extract some data that follows a particular pattern.. For example: my file contains like now running Speak225 sep 22 mon 16:34:05 2008 -------------------------------- ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mohkris
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

String extraction from a text file

The following script code works great for extracting 'postmaster' from a line of text stored in a variable named string: string="PenaltyError:=554 5.7.1 Error, send your mail to postmaster@LOCALDOMAIN" stuff=$( echo $string | cut -d@ -f1 | awk '{ print $NF }' ) echo $stuff However, I need to be... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: cleanden
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extraction of data from multiple text files, and creation of a chart

Hello dear friends, My problem as explained below seems really basic. Fact is that I'm totally new to programming, and have only a week to produce a script ( CShell or Perl ? ) to perform this action. While searching on the forums, I found a command that could help me, but I don't know... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ackheron
2 Replies