Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: searching through pcap files
Top Forums Programming searching through pcap files Post 302207359 by hershey101 on Thursday 19th of June 2008 04:37:34 PM
Old 06-19-2008
searching through pcap files

Hi,
I am new at UNIX and programing in general and only have a basic knowledge of C++. I am helping out with some research at a college and was given the task to sort through captured packets via IP addresses. I was wondering if anyone could help me with writing a code which filters through pcap files by ip addresses and then records the timestamps. I know a few programs that do this type of thing such as WireShark but they take up too much memory when analyzing gigabytes of data and that is why I am looking to write a relatively simple code which just gets my task done and gathers data for me.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Searching files..?

hi there can anyone tell me how to search and copy files under unix? im writing shell scripts with 'vi' and 'pico' something like read directoryName if then echo Copying the files copy those *.src files to sub1(another directory) using cp else ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: nickaren
4 Replies

2. Programming

pcap.h

I cant use pcap.h include file. How can I do so? :confused: (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pervez Sajjad
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Searching Files

Hi, I have a file /db01/dat/march 2006/7001DW06.03B Please note, between "march 2006" there is a space/tab. While running the following script, it identifies /db01/dat/march ----> as first file 2006/7001DW06.03B ---> as second file. SRC_PATH = /db01/dat SEARCH_FILENAME =... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: ronald_brayan
12 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pcap.h Sniffing

Can someone please help me figure out how to use pcap.h to sniff packets between only 2 computers whose mac addresses are know? Thanks (0 Replies)