Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting remove the text (*@yahoo.com, hotmail.com) from one file Post 302205434 by ripat on Sunday 15th of June 2008 03:53:21 AM
Old 06-15-2008
Wel, I just noticed my sed solution was not working for two consecutive banned email addresses. See first line of output. Give it a try with awk:

Code:
awk -F":" -v OFS=": " '{print $1, gensub(/[^@]+@(gmail|yahoo|hotmail)\.com,?/, "", "g", $2)}' input-file

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Send mail to any user (@hotmail,@yahoo etc) from Solaris

Hi All, I am new to unix. I want to know what are the steps to do in order to configure a unix server (Solaris 8) to send mails to the outside world. I also want to send attachments in the mail. Thanks in advance Zing (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: zing
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove specified text from file

I am trying to write a script that kills old sessions, I've posted here over the past few days and the script is just about perfect except I want to be given the option to exclude specified PIDs from being killed. this is the entire script: if then rm /tmp/idlepids fi if then rm... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: raidzero
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove and replace text in a file

Hello all, How would I go to a particular line in a file and remove certain text from it and replace with something that I want it to be there. like: file /etc/abc now look for line HOME="/export/xyz" in /etc/abc and then replace with HOME=/"export/xyz1" thanks in advance guys. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: solaix14
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

able to remove \240 from a text file