Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers read a variable character by character, substitute characters with something else Post 302203147 by joeyg on Friday 6th of June 2008 03:18:15 PM
Old 06-06-2008
Hammer & Screwdriver I think you may need to use a 'dummy' character

In order to switch things, the first cannot immediately be switched to the second. Take a look at the following where I ...
translate a to z
translate b to a
translate z to b

Code:
> echo $var1
aababbbaaaababaabbaabbba
> var2=$(echo $var1 | tr a z)
> var3=$(echo $var2 | tr b a)
> var4=$(echo $var3 | tr z b)
> echo $var4
bbabaaabbbbababbaabbaaab

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can i read a file character by character

How to read character by character using awk (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: karnan
6 Replies

2. AIX

check for a particular character inside a file and substitute with a given character?

i am a newbie to shell script,so i want a kshell script in which i need to check for a particular character inside a file through conditional looping(like if ,case,while)and if that character exists ,then substitute a given character to that character. consider a file test.txt,inside the file... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: karthikprasathk
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

read and assign each character from the string to a variable

How... can I read input by a user character by cahracter. And assign each character from the string to a variable? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Tek-E
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

read in a file character by character - replace any unknown ASCII characters with spa

Can someone help me to write a script / command to read in a file, character by character, replace any unknown ASCII characters with space. then write out the file to a new filename/ Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: raghav525
1 Replies