Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: XML Problem
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting XML Problem Post 302202592 by era on Thursday 5th of June 2008 08:24:39 AM
Old 06-05-2008
It's looking for literally the contents of the file, you need to process it to make a decent regular expression out of it.

Better do that in Perl directly, too.

Code:
perl -0777 -pe 'BEGIN {
    open (C, "codes.txt") || die "$!"; $c = <C>; close C; chomp $c; $c =~ y/\n/|/; }
  s%^\s*<content contentid="($c)"[^<>]*>(.*?)</content>\s$*%%msg' file.xml

This isn't particularly elegant; there is some pressure to put this into a file rather than try to pretend it's still a one-liner. You should probably refactor it a bit then.

Last edited by era; 06-05-2008 at 09:36 AM.. Reason: Oops, <C> is influenced by -0777 too

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

importing xml: problem

I'm an absolute newbie for unix... For my work, I have to import a xml file in our system (jsp+sql) via putty telnet. Once i have copied the file in the right directory, I launch this command: ./thisImport -i input/thisImport/newimport.20071130.xml -l 10 -t this is a test (as you can see),... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tranky
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem printing the property of xml file via shell script

Hi, I have a config.xml which cointains the tags like <CONFIG> <PROPERTY name="port" value="1111"/> <PROPERTY name="dbname" value="ABCDE"/> <PROPERTY name="connectstring" value="xyz/pwd"/> </CONFIG> This file is in some directory at UNix box. I need to write a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: neeto
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

XML Copy & replace problem