Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: XML Problem
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting XML Problem Post 302202586 by Zarnick on Thursday 5th of June 2008 07:55:57 AM
Old 06-05-2008
This I understood, the file.xml is the xml file to remove the content from, but how do I feed the perl program with the codes to remove? I tried creating a big file with all the codes piped (e.g.: 0001|0002|3142|5342|7890....) and then cat it with the perl program you passed:
Code:
perl -0777 -pe 's%^\s*<content contentid="(`cat codes.txt`)"[^<>]*>(.*?)</content>\s$*%%msg' file.xml

But it didn't worked. Am I missing something here?

Thanks.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

importing xml: problem

I'm an absolute newbie for unix... For my work, I have to import a xml file in our system (jsp+sql) via putty telnet. Once i have copied the file in the right directory, I launch this command: ./thisImport -i input/thisImport/newimport.20071130.xml -l 10 -t this is a test (as you can see),... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tranky
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem printing the property of xml file via shell script

Hi, I have a config.xml which cointains the tags like <CONFIG> <PROPERTY name="port" value="1111"/> <PROPERTY name="dbname" value="ABCDE"/> <PROPERTY name="connectstring" value="xyz/pwd"/> </CONFIG> This file is in some directory at UNix box. I need to write a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: neeto
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

XML Copy & replace problem

I probably could have done this at one time, but, the years and no need has left my scripting skills lacking and I'm unable to work this problem out. https://www.unix.com/images/smilies/frown.gif :( Using Linux, have a great many xml files in which there may be multiple occurrence of a line of... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: xenixuser
13 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl - problem with CPAN module XML::Simple