Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sort files by date
Operating Systems Linux sort files by date Post 302201621 by itik on Monday 2nd of June 2008 06:20:37 PM
Old 06-02-2008
sort files by date

Hi All,

Sorry to throw this frequent question but I lost my notes on it.

How do you list the files by date? I'm on red hat.

Thanks in advance,
itik
This User Gave Thanks to itik For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort files by Date-timestamps available in filename & pick the sortedfiles one by one

Hi, I am new to Unix shell scripting. Can you please help me with this immediate requirement to code.. The requirement is as given below. In a directory say Y, I have files like this. PP_100000_28062006_122731_746.dat PP_100000_28062006_122731_745.dat PP_100000_28062006_122734_745.dat... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Chindhu
4 Replies

2. AIX

loop through the directory for files and sort by date and process the first file

hello i have a requirement where i have a direcotry in which i get files in the format STOCKS.20080114.dat STOCKS.20080115.dat STOCKS.20080117.dat STOCKS.20080118.dat i need to loop through the directory and sort by create date descending order and i need to process the first file. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dsdev_123
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sort files by date, delete oldest, if total size bigger than

hello people i need your help please i want to achieve the following with the simplest, most efficient shell-tools: i have a directory with a lot of files from users. the script should check which partition the dir is on if the partition with the directory is more than 90% full ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: scarfake
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sort files by date, not showing files from today