Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: arithmetic in tcsh
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting arithmetic in tcsh Post 302200221 by Perderabo on Wednesday 28th of May 2008 08:56:10 PM
Old 05-28-2008
Like this...but first an easier way to do your awk script....

Code:
$ cat data
bc misstep (hi)............34
bc misstep (hello)..2
bc misstep (bye)......0
$ awk -F. '{print $NF}' data
$
$
$
$ awk -F. '{sum=sum+$NF}END{print sum}' data
$

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Arithmetic In UNIX

I am a beginner and I have been searching the web all morning for this answer but can't find it anywhere. I know that prtint 1*2 will return 1*2 what if i actually want the problem to be calculated so i want print 1*2 to return 2 How is this done? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tygun
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

arithmetic in ksh

Helloo.. I am trying one very simple thing I could not find anything on google.. I have 2 integer variable..and I need to do division...in ksh where $catch and $num are integer variable.. I tryed with this: printf "%0.2f" $final=$catch/$num but it does not work.. any help is... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: amon
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can I use wc -l with arithmetic expression?

Folks, I am wondering that i can use something like this in one line. For example, $((cat filename > wc -l) / 2) It doesn't work; how to get it work using command substitution? Moreover, is there any option for wc -l not to return filename after the line counts? wc -l filename would... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lalelle
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with arithmetic operation