Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Machine Independent??
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Machine Independent?? Post 302199910 by fpmurphy on Wednesday 28th of May 2008 06:02:33 AM
Old 05-28-2008
This looks like homework. Please do not post homework problems.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

making the application session independent

Hi all, I am actually new to Unix programming and this is my first question to this forum. I have an application and i want it to run independent of the command shell. For example, i run the application from a telnet session. But when i close my session, application is terminated. I just... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bokhari_jawad
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to Launch an independent process.

Hello, I needed a help please... I have an application which launches process. For this i am using fork and execv method calls. By doing this my launched process are now child process of the parent process(launching process). I dont want this to happen, i want the process that is launched to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: deepthi
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

is syslogd logging locale independent?

Just wanna know whether syslogd logs messages in a locale-independent fashion. I want to read the date/time format from log files. Normally the date/time is of the form Jan 23 04:11:30. can this date/time information found in log files be different for different locales?? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sudesh
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Position independent Parameter passing

Hi all, When parameters are passed to the shell script, they are dereferenced by their position. For example, I call myTest.sh and pass two parameters param1 and param2 as following: ./myTest.sh param1 param2 In the script, myTest.sh, I refer to first parameter (param1 ) as $1 and second... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sonaluphale