Sponsored Content
Special Forums IP Networking gethostbyname_r returns NULL when hostname has dash Post 302198694 by Perderabo on Friday 23rd of May 2008 04:17:27 PM
Old 05-23-2008
This appears to be illegal according to rfc 952.
RFC 952 (rfc952) - DoD Internet host table specification

Code:
<name>  ::= <let>[*[<let-or-digit-or-hyphen>]<let-or-digit>]

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris - unknown hostname - how can I change hostname?

Hello, I am new to Solaris. I am using stand alone Solaris 10.0 for test/study purpose and connecting to internet via an ADSL modem which has DHCP server. My Solaris is working on VMWare within winXP. My WinXP and Solaris connects to internet by the same ADSL modem via its DHCP at the same... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: XNOR
1 Replies

2. Programming

PEM_read_RSAPublicKey returns NULL

Hi all, I am trying to write a program in C which will generate private and public keys using openssl RSA and use these for encryption and decryption. I am able to generate the keys successfully and write these to files. I am able to read the private key successfully. I can encrypt and decrypt... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Treasa
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove dash

hi I am using ksh #A="abc-def" #typeset -u B="$A" #echo $B ABC-DEF how to remove the dash? i.e. ABCDEF? thank you (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: melanie_pfefer
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

echo statement when find returns null

Hi, How do you echo something once when a find statement returns null results? This is when using mutiple locations and mutiple arguments. The below find command the inner loop of a nested for loop where the outter loop holds the $args and the inner loop holds the locations. find... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tchoruma
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk returns null?