Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers need help on how to read command in unix Post 302196684 by raoscb on Monday 19th of May 2008 07:43:59 AM
Old 05-19-2008
Error need help on how to read command in unix

thanks ray.
i have seen the below code.but i am not getting wht the "line" signifies in the read command?i am very new to unix scripting.could you please write elabrately somethign in the code.
coming to search pattern i have to search at 14and15 postion of the record whether it equals to '6h' or not.if so i have to write that coressponding record into a separate file.

i really appreciate your help.

advancedthanks
narasimharao.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

while using read command I want too.....

This is the greatest site ever, only my second day of use and the responses and advice I got from yesterdays question were great.. Now for todays question, I have a file that I want to read one line at a time into a script i've written. Once I have read the line I would like to update it (in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nhatch
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Read Command

i need to create a script that inputs information from another file using the read command. Sounds easy enough but i can't figure it out, can anyone help me? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Woodbird25
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK : read unix command

Hi, Is there a way to have something working like the read Unix command to stop a awk ask a question and get the result. I've try system("read a") but it does not work. Thanks. Franck. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: fwirbel
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

read command