Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help to process each line in a file... Post 302195028 by era on Wednesday 14th of May 2008 06:56:26 AM
Old 05-14-2008
Does grep pattern `cat filenames.txt` not do what you want? Note those are backticks (ASCII 96), not regular apostrophes.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Process file line by line

Hi I have a csv file as follows 608, Barnwood PFS,,2 150, Barnwood CS,2,4 etc When i do for lines in `cat file.dat` the space in second argument seems to screwing the lines up. Any suggestions to get around this? Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: handak9
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shell script to process file line by line

Hi , I am new to shell scripting (ksh shell) and trying to accomplish few requiremtns. I have a file with the following format EMP NO EMP NAME AGE Amt Paid 12 Mark Taylor 32 32333 14 James Brown... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: royalsing
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to read/process a .gz file, one line at a time?

Hello I'm stuck trying to solve this KSH issue and I'm hoping someone out there can offer some suggestions. I want to read lots of large .gz files one line at a time in order to compare its Error entries with a list of known errors. I can't simply do "foreach ERROR do gzcat *.gz |grep... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dayscripter
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read file line by line and process the line to generate another file

Hi, i have file which contains data as below(Only sample shown, it may contain more data similar to the one shown here) i need to read this file line by line and generate an output file like the one below i.e based on N value the number of MSISDNs will vary, if N=1 then the following... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: aemunathan
14 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting