Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: substr not working
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting substr not working Post 302193765 by danmero on Sunday 11th of May 2008 01:12:09 AM
Old 05-11-2008
Code:
$line="123356572867116w1671716"
cut_line=`awk -v v=${#line} 'BEGIN{print substr(ARGV[1],1,v)}' "$line"`

Last edited by danmero; 05-11-2008 at 02:37 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk substr?

Sorry if this has been posted before, I searched but not sure what I really want to do. I have a file with records that show who has logged into my application: 2003-03-14:I:root: Log_mesg: registered servername:userid. (more after this) I want to pull out the userid, date and time into... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: MizzGail
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Substr of variable

Dear All, I am new to Unix and need your help. I am trying to write b-shell script which will return substr of some variable like this d="asdfg" return Substr(d,1,5). Please help (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: giviut
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using substr

What is the more efficient way to do this (awk only and default FS) ? $ echo "jefe@alm"|awk '{pos = index($0, "@");printf ("USER: %s\n",substr ($0,1,pos-1))}' USER: jefe Thx in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Klashxx
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Substr

Hi, My input file is 41;2;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;2;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;2;xxxx;yyyyy.... .. .. I need to change the second field value from 2 to 1. i.e., 41;1;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;1;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;1;xxxx;yyyyy.... .. .. Thanks in advance. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: deepakwins
9 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

get substr?